Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Elementary Education

Welcome

Welcome to Elementary Education

    

Elementary Instruction serves as support to the staff and families of our 21 elementary schools, as well as our Transitional Kindergarten, Spanish Magnet, Academies for Advanced Learning, STEM Academy at Riverview, Montessori at Carl Sundahl, K-8 Independent Study Charter, Innovations Academy (virtual school) and several related district departments. 

Curriculum & Instruction Vision Statement

Provide support that promotes growth, rigor and culturally responsive learning for each and every student while fostering social emotional development.

Curriculum & Instruction Mission Statement

The Curriculum & Instruction team will promote:

  • equitable learning for each and every student
  • high quality classroom instruction guided by professional learning communities
  • implementation of a rigorous and engaging, guaranteed & viable curriculum aligned with California state standards 
  • opportunities, programs and strategies for enrichment and intervention (MTSS) based on data-driven practices 
  • evidence-based professional development 
  • equitable standards-based grading practices

  Homework Information

Through careful analysis of recent research, the elementary ELA/ELD and Math Lead Teachers are recommending the following considerations be applied to nightly and weekly homework assignments:

According to the research, in order to “get it right” homework should:

  • Be brief.
  • Make sure to only include research-aligned and standards-based tasks.
  • Not be a project.
  • Reinforce skills already taught in the classroom. Nothing should be sent home that is at the student’s instructional level. All work sent home should be at each student's independent level.

Recommendations regarding homework that fit the criteria have been given to teachers and principals. Homework is a site-based decision, so variations may exist from school to school. If parents have any questions, they may direct them to the principal of their particular site.

Contact Us

Main Phone Number
916-294-9000 (phone)
916-294-9020 (fax)

Jim Huber, Ed. D.
Assistant Superintendent,
Educational Services
jhuber@fcusd.org
(916) 294.9000 x104580

Lori Emmington 
Director, TK-12 Educational Services
lemmingt@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 x103605 

Angi Carlomagno
Director, TK-12 Educational Services
acarloma@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 x103605

Shannon Buck 
Administrative Assistant
sbuck@fcusd.org
(916) 294.9000 x103605  

Joy Cleaver
Administrative Assistant
jcleaver@fcusd.org
(916) 294.9000 x104580

Jana Maulhardt
TK-12 Lead Teacher EL Focus jmaulhardt@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 x103651  

Shawn Kivley 
TK-12 Lead Teacher
skivley@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 ext 103652  

Kelly Samuelson  
TK-12 Lead Teacher SEL & Equity Focus  ksamuelson@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 ext 103657  

Kari Bjork 
TK-12 Lead Teacher Edtech Focus kbjork@fcusd.org
(916) 294-9000 x103659  

Sasha Kinney 
District Librarian
skinney@fcusd.org 
(916) 294-9000 x103663  

Debra Zwicker-Spbrepena (DJ)
TK-12 Lead Teacher (TOSA) dzwickersobrepena@fcusd.org
916-294-9000 x 103620  

Katrina Schachtely
TK-12 Lead Teacher
kschachtely@fcusd.org
916-294-9000 x 103650