STEAM logo
  • Welcome to the FMS STEAM Exploratory Department!

    STEAM is an educational approach to learning that uses Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Math as access points for guiding student inquiry, dialogue, and critical thinking. The end results are students who take thoughtful risks, engage in experiential learning, persist in problem-solving, embrace collaboration, and work through the creative process. These are the innovators, educators, leaders, and learners of the 21st century!

    Our vision is to engage, inspire, empower a community of learners in thinking, collaborating, and innovating through a challenging learning environment and ensuring students are well-equipped to meet the challenges in the 21st century.

    All electives courses in the STEAM pathway will take the benefits of STEM and complete the package by integrating these principles in and through the arts.  Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics (S.T.E.A.M.) education creates an integrated, innovative, learning environment in every classroom. The STEAM approach facilitates a learning experience driven by problem solving, discovery, and exploratory learning.

    STEAM takes STEM to the next level: it allows students to connect their learning in these critical areas together with arts practices, elements, design principles, and standards to provide the whole “pallete” of learning at their disposal through hands-on learning and the use of technology.

    Semester long classes:  Exploratory Spanish, Exploratory Art, Exploratory Music, Curriculum Support, Creative Writing, PLTW, Robotics and Coding.  

    Year long classes:  Advanced Choir, Intermediate & Advanced Orchestra, Intermediate & Advanced Band, Wind Ensemble, Advanced Art, Spanish 1A, 1B & 2, Yearbook, Student Leadership, and Media Production.

  • Zenaida Mendoza-López,

    Division Lead

    zmendoza-lopez@fcusd.org

    Spanish 1A, 1B and 2

     

    Amanda Spangler

    aspangler@fcusd.org

    Exploratory and Advanced Art

     

    Demetrius Olsen

    dolsen@fcusd.org

    PLTW, Robotics, Code and Media Production

     

    Robert Comarow

    rcomarow@fcusd.org

    Exploratory Music and Advanced Choir

     

    Meredith Sievers

    msievers@fcusd.org

    PLTW

     

    Emily Shepard

    eshepard@fcusd.org

    Intermediate and Advanced Orchestra

     

    John Zimny

    jzimny@fcusd.org

    Wind Ensemble, Intermediate and Advanced Band

     

    Yvette Loya

    yloya@fcusd.org

    Exploratory Spanish

     

    Tristine Lorains

    tlorains@fcusd.org

    Yearbook

     

    Stephanie Bell

    sbell@fcusd.org

    Student Leadership

     

    Ari Colondres

    acolondres@fcusd.org

    Curriculum Support

     

    Melissa Lawson

    mlawson@fcusd.org

    Creative Writing