STEAM logo
  • Welcome to the FMS STEAM Exploratory Department!

    STEAM is an educational approach to learning that uses Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Math as access points for guiding student inquiry, dialogue, and critical thinking. The end result involves students who take thoughtful risks, engaging in experiential learning, persisting in problem-solving, embracing collaboration, and working through the creative process. These are the innovators, educators, leaders, and learners of the 21st century!

    Our vision is to engage, inspire, empower a community of learners to think, collaborate, and innovate in a challenging learning environment and ensure students are well-equipped to meet the challenges in the 21st century.

    All electives courses in the STEAM pathway will take the benefits of STEM and complete the package by integrating these principles in and through the arts.  Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics (S.T.E.A.M.) education creates an integrated, innovative, learning environment in every classroom. The STEAM approach facilitates a learning experience driven by problem solving, discovery, and exploratory learning.

    STEAM takes STEM to the next level: it allows students to connect their learning in these critical areas together with arts practices, elements, design principles, and standards to provide the whole “ pallet” of learning at their disposal through hands-on learning and the use of technology.

    Current semester-long classes:  Exploratory Spanish, Exploratory Art, Exploratory Music, Curriculum Support, Creative Writing, PLTW and Coding.  

    Year-long classes:  Advanced Choir, Intermediate & Advanced Orchestra, Intermediate & Advanced Band, Wind Ensemble, Jazz, Advanced Art, Spanish 1A, 1B & 2, Yearbook, Student Leadership, Robotics and Media Production.

    Signing up for Electives for the following school begins Feb. 21 and ends March 4th in a 2 week window.  All students are encouraged to fill out their elective form during this time to be able to choose their top 3 possible courses for the following school year.  Some advanced and year-long courses require an application with a copy of their grades attached to apply.  Don't miss this important time period! 

  • Zenaida Mendoza-López,

    Division Lead

    zmendoza-lopez@fcusd.org

    Spanish 1A, 1B and 2 (Year)

     

    Jane DeFelice

    JDefelic@fcusd.org

    Exploratory Art (Semester)

     Advanced Art (Year)

     

    Demetrius Olsen

    dolsen@fcusd.org

    Media Production (Year)

    Coding (Semester)

    Robotics (Year)

     

    Robert Comarow

    rcomarow@fcusd.org

    Exploratory Music (Semester)

    Advanced Choir (Year)

     

    Meredith Sievers

    msievers@fcusd.org

    PLTW (Semester)

     

    Emily Shepard

    eshepard@fcusd.org

    Intermediate Orchestra (year)

    Advanced Orchestra (year)

     

    John Zimny

    jzimny@fcusd.org

    Wind Ensemble, Intermediate, Advanced Band, Jazz

    (All year)

     

    Yvette Loya

    yloya@fcusd.org

    Exploratory Spanish (Semester)

     

    Tristine Lorains

    tlorains@fcusd.org

    Yearbook (Year)

     

    Stephanie Bell

    sbell@fcusd.org

    Student Leadership (Year)

     

    Ari Colondres

    acolondres@fcusd.org

    Curriculum Support (Year)

     

    Melissa Lawson

    mlawson@fcusd.org

    Creative Writing (Semester only)