• Welcome to Dr. Rowland's
    A.P. European History Site
     
     
        Stay safe... sing a song!
     
      
     
    Current Topics:

     

    We have finished the first week of our new school look! Have a wonderful Spring Break and come back on April 14th ready to go.

    Check out the rubric for the 2020 exam linked to our website!

     

    CollegeBoard has posted information about the updated 2020 European History Exam: 

    Test date and time

    Exam Date: May 13

    • Hawaii Time: 10 a.m.
    • Alaska Time: 12 p.m.
    • Pacific Time: 1 p.m.
    • Mountain Time: 2 p.m.
    • Central Time: 3 p.m.
    • Eastern Time: 4 p.m.

    Exam timing

    Students will be given 45 minutes to read and respond to Question 1 and then 5 minutes to upload their response.

    Questions

    Question 1 (45 mins.)

    % of exam weight (rounded)

    100%

    Question name

    Modified Document-Based Question (DBQ)

    Question description

    This question presents students with 5 historical sources, 1 of which will be a non-text-based source. This question assesses students’ ability to:

    • Respond to the prompt with a historically defensible thesis or claim that establishes a line of reasoning.
    • Describe a broader historical context relevant to the prompt.
    • Support an argument in response to the prompt using at least 4 documents.
    • Use at least 2 additional pieces of specific historical evidence (beyond that found in the documents) relevant to an argument about the prompt.
    • For at least 2 documents, explain how or why the document’s point of view, purpose, historical situation, and/or audience is relevant to an argument.
    • Use evidence to corroborate, qualify, or modify an argument that addresses the prompt.

    Corresponding free-response question (FRQ) type in the course and exam description binder

    Modified Document-Based Question (DBQ). The prompt for the 2020 modified DBQ may be derived from any of Units 1–7, and will include 5 documents (instead of 7). The rubric will be lightly modified to match the reduced number of documents, awarding 1 point for using 2 documents and an additional point for using 4 documents. An additional point will be awarded for effectively incorporating a second piece of outside knowledge into the argument. Students can earn up to 2 points for sourcing (1 point for each document).

    Units eligible for 2020 exam

    Units 1–7

    Units not included in 2020 exam

    Units 8–9

    Make-up test date and time

    Date: June 2

    • Hawaii Time: 8 a.m.
    • Alaska Time: 10 a.m.
    • Pacific Time: 11 a.m.
    • Mountain Time: 12 p.m.
    • Central Time: 1 p.m.
    • Eastern Time: 2 p.m.

     

    We will continue to center our review on the analysis of articles and DBQ skills relevant to Units 1-7 (McKay11 chapters 11-24) after Spring break. CollegeBoard lectures/reviews are available during the break:

    https://www.youtube.com/user/advancedplacement?SFMC_cid=EM294654-&rid=47644260

     

    Here's a link to past DBQ Essay Questions and Responses:

    https://apcentral.collegeboard.org/courses/ap-european-history/exam/past-exam-questions

     

    PowerSchool grades are updated to reflect the 3rd quarter assignments. If you have "zeros" for the 3rd quarter and would like to make this up for 1/2 credit, please email me at jrowland@fcusd.org so we can make this happen. Your deadline for turning in the missing work is May 1, 2020.

     

    Current assignments on Schoology may come back to you graded as a "0". Not to worry... I am keeping track of who is completing the work and checking in with the class in discussion threads. The completion grades for week 1 will be posted after April 12th.

      

    Daily:

    No assignments will be given during Spring Break. You may want to spend some time checking out the CollegeBoard review site linked above.

     

    Schoology accounts for students are now active and students may log in. Please follow these three steps:

    1. Log into your District Google Account

    2. Go to fcusd.schoology.com

    3. Log in using your Google Account.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
     

     

     

     

     

     

  • AP Euro Updates:

     

    Office hours for the week of April 14th-17th at jrowland@fcusd.org 

     

    Monday: 9:30 am-11:30 am

    Tuesday: 9:30 am-11:30 am

    Wednesday: 9:30 am-11:30 am

    Thursday: 9:30 am-11:30 am

    Friday: 9:30 am-11:30 am

     

    Period 2 parents can email me at jrowland@fcusd for their parent access codes.

     

    Upcoming Class Schedule: 

     

    *Units 1-2: 3/30-4/3; 4/14-4/17 

    *Units 3-4: 4/20-4/24

    *Units 5-6: 4/27-5/1

    *Unit 7 and Super Review: 5/4-5/12

    We will incorporate DBQ skills and practice throughout the weeks.

     

    Distance learning update:  

    Student tech support hours: Tech support will be available for students and families beginning on Monday, March 30, from 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Please contact the Service Desk at (916) 294-9005 x103200 if you are having difficulty connecting to wifi, cannot access learning resources, or are having technical difficulties with District provided Chromebooks. 

    Will parents have access to Schoology? Parents will have access to Schoology to monitor their child’s progress and assignments. More information regarding how to access your unique Parent Access Code will be available in the Saturday message distributed via our usual communication channels (i.e. Blackboard, social media, etc.)

     

    Google Classroom Codes:

    Period 1 = f4ihjik

    Period 2 = apkefrv

    Period 3 = 4eaunon

    Period 4 = solqyor

     

    4/3/20 - Check out the update from Mr. Cadenhead:

     

     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGxXTYrRtSg&feature=youtu.be

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Comments (-1)