English Language Proficiency Assessments for California - ELPAC

  • ELPAC Administration

    Initial ELPAC

    The Initial ELPAC administration window is July 1–June 30, 2020.

    Summative ELPAC

    The Summative ELPAC administration window is February 3–May 29, 2020.  Our district testing window is February 3 - April 26, 2020.

    The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT).  The ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. 

    State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards , and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

    1. Initial ELPAC—an initial identification of students as English learners
    2. Summative ELPAC—an annual summative assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level



          Click here to do a practice test with your student


Contact Info